Posted by: jamesotis | May 8, 2008

quandry

The back story:

  My previous motorcycle was a Honda XL100 2 stroke. I used to feed it up to 75% gasoline and 25% alchohol of some variety. No problems, just a little carburetor adjustment.

The present day:

  I have a Kawasaki KLR 650 4-stroke. I’ve run 50/50 ethanol before, no problem. So I decided to run E-85 (85% ethyl alchohol). Even with the carb adjustment it ran pretty crappy. Did I mention that this was a full tank? That ment limping to a Walmart and getting an utterly crappy siphon and matching gas can (for “self venting” read leaky) and remove half of said inexpensive alternative fuel & replace it with unleaded gasoline. Still pretty lackluster performance, but decent after a long warm up or running with the choke open 75% for 10 minutes.

  The interesting part is that even with a richer fuel/air ratio and reduced horsepower under 4000 rpm, I still got 10mpg better fuel milage, and at an average fuel savings greater than half a buck per gallon.

  So the question is, will this 50/50 mix harm the motorcycle in any way? If not, I may run it for the summer. The choke manipulation is only needed below 60 degrees, so I should be able to get away with it.

Any thoughts

Leave a Reply

Categories

